Jun 20, 2024  
2015-2016 Catalog 
2015-2016 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Political Science, B.A.

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Programs

In addition to adhering to General Education  and School of Social Sciences, Humanities and Arts Requirements , the Political Science major requires 52 units, some of which may simultaneously meet general education requirements. Courses in the major must be taken for a letter grade, and may not be taken on a pass/no pass basis unless the course is only offered on a pass/no pass basis.

Lower Division Major Requirements [16 Units]

Upper Division Major Requirements [36 Units]

Three courses per subfield for two of the following subfields [24 units]

Student will complete a total of six courses.

  • American Politics: POLI 100-127
  • Comparative Politics: POLI 130-142
  • International Relations: POLI 150-165
  • Pre-Law ( POLI 102 , POLI 110 , POLI 111 , POLI 165 )

Three additional upper division courses in Political Science [12 units]

Transfer Students

Transfer students planning to major in Political Science should complete the Intersegmental General Education Transfer Curriculum (IGETC) at their community college. Transfer students may not be admitted to the Political Science major without specific major preparation. Please contact the Office of Admissions for current information.

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Programs